:: National Register of Historic Places
:: Chesapeake Bay Gateways Site
:: Q.A.. Historic Sites Consortium
:: Colonial Dames XVII Century Site
Located just off Route 50 at the intersection
of Route 662, 213, and 404 on Maryland's Eastern Shore, 15 miles
from the Bay Bridge.
We are looking
to greatly expand our volunteer base and "welcome" anyone
willing to learn the art of milling.
Please contact us
at: 410 827 3850
The Wye Grist Mill is located on a ¾
acre plot of land in the Town of Wye Mills, on the border of
Queen Anne's and Talbot Counties, Eastern Shore Maryland.
The mill and museum is a rectangular, one-story 30' by 40'
timber structure with a full basement and attic filled with
milling artifacts and museum exhibits. A
timber frame structure was originally constructed on this
site circa 1682, with multiple additions and renovations
over the last 325 years.
Discover the long and colorful past of this
National Register Historic Landmark. Watch the waterwheel turn
the heavy stones to grind the grain as millers explain the
milling process. Explore exhibits that feature over
years of grinding technology.
|:: FASCINATING FACTS
3rd U.S. patent granted was to inventor Oliver Evans in 1790
for his automatic grist mill, signed by President George
The invention allowed grist mills to produce a better
grade of flour while operating continuously with less labor.
He also invented the revolutionary high pressure steam
We are now open
weekdays too !
The Wye Grist Mill is open from mid-April to mid-November.
Monday thru Saturday - Doors open from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m.
and Sunday - Doors open from 1 p.m. until 4 p.m. A $2
donation is suggested
Grinding Days are the first and third Saturday of each
month from 10 a.m. until 4 p.m. Volunteers demonstrate
the traditional stone grinding process.